Pinny Party.

If you look long enough, you'll see faces. Dresses, Topshop
If you look long enough, you’ll see faces. Dresses, Topshop

I was looking for a dress, then I found a dress. More specifically, I was looking for a pinafore that wasn’t too short and pref in a light colour, then threw all my foibles away in Primark. Heaven knows I’m predictable now!

Truth be told, I was mostly looking out for an appropriate pinafore ’cause they combine a few of my favourite things about dresses: namely a tight waist with free hips, and endless customisation potential according to what you wear with them, but with more identity than a mere skirt. This number has skinny leather straps to differentiate it, and it’s now black tights weather so who cares about hemlines?

If you wanna buy me a camera and some daylight that'd be great! Dress, Primark | Shirt, Urban Outfitters
If you wanna buy me a camera and some daylight that’d be great! Dress, Primark | Shirt, Urban Outfitters

Everyone’s gone on about the childhood connotations of dungarees, but I have none of these – was I the only kid who didn’t wear dungarees, ever? Not entirely fairly, the one childhood picture that I identify most with sees me in a fake Ninja Turtles tracksuit from the market, a mullet and barely healed chicken pox marks. What I’m trying to say is: I rarely wore nice stuff as a child (apart from this obvs) so I’m wearing it now. I also have a large poster of a squirrel in my room. Make of it what you will.

Just me and my squirrel. Dress, Primark | Jumper, Gap via Goodwill
Just me and my squirrel. Dress, Primark | Jumper, Gap via Goodwill
Leave a Reply

